Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Home

This guide is to assist students in finding musical scores and music related resources.

General Information about this Music LibGuide

Welcome to the Music LibGuide for Reinhardt University. Students taking classes in the Music department, as well as Reinhardt faculty and staff, are welcome to use this guide to get started with music research and to learn how to use the resources available through Hill Freeman Library and Spruill Learning Center.

Music Databases

 

African American Music Reference (Alexander Street Press)
Text and liner notes covering blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

 

American Song (Alexander Street Press)
Database of more than 1700 albums containing 122,000 tracks that users listen to over the Internet. It allows people to hear and feel the music from our past.

 

Art Song Transpositions

Offers professionally crafted scores of art songs, arias, and musical theatre titles in any key.

 

Classical Music Library (Alexander Street Press)
The world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries.

 

Classical Music Reference Library (Alexander Street Press)
Brings together more than 30,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database.

 

Classical Scores Library (Alexander Street Press)
Contains hundreds of thousands of pages of the most important classical music scores.

 

Contemporary World Music (Alexander Street Press)
Delivers the musical sounds of all regions from every continent.

 

Dance in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.

 

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (Alexander Street Press)
The first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.

 

 
 

IPA Source
Online since 2003, IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.

 

Jazz Music Library (Alexander Street Press)
Largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.

 

LibraryMusicSource.com
The largest collection of Western Classical sheet music ever assembled.

 

Music Online (Alexander Street Press)
The broadest and most comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all of your library's Alexander Street Press music databases.

 

Naxos Music Library (Naxos)
Streaming access to more than 80,000 musical CDs including global sounds, jazz, contemporary and classical music.

 

Naxos Sheet Music (Naxos)
Formerly FreeHandMusic.com, this library service delivers 45,000 digital sheet music titles, in all classical genres, spanning music from Medieval to the 21st century and composers from Bach to Arvo Part.

 

Naxos Video Library (Naxos)
An extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.

 

Opera in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.

 

Oxford Music Online
Access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources.

 

Smithsonian Global Sound (Alexander Street Press)
A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.

 

Vocal Masterclassics

The world's #1 database resource providing voice students and faculty with complete documentation, program information, and access to the world's great vocal masterclasses.

 

How to Research for Music Scores and Resources

Finding Books, Scores & More

 

Searching via Library Online Catalog

Click the Online Catalog button on our website at https://www.reinhardt.edu/library/

The Advanced Search will open in a new window and is recommended if you don’t know the exact title of the item for which you are searching. if you want to search for a phrase such as “four part chorales”, click the drop down menu in the middle and select as a phrase.  You may also wish to select Author in the drop-down menu on the right side for a specific composer or leave it as Keyword Anywhere.

 

Browsing in the library

Music books and scores are located on the 2nd floor of the library on both sides of the service desk. There are three Library of Congress call number headings for music you’ll want to remember if you like to browse: M, ML, and MT.

The easy way to remember them is:

M = Music (Scores)

ML = Music Literature

MT = Music Theory

Within these three they become more specific, of course.  Fortunately, our library catalog is accessible online on any device which makes browsing upstairs so much easier!

 

Checking Out Items

You may check out books for three weeks at a time and media items for one week at a time. There are overdue fines if materials are returned late: books are 5 cents a day per book; $1 a day per media item.  Fines accrue daily to a maximum amount of $10 per item. Renew your items online, over the phone, or in person to avoid overdue fines.

 

Databases

We have many amazing electronic resources containing scores, tracks, videos, research, and more for music majors that are accessible anytime, anywhere (on AND off campus!), on any device.  All you need to do is go to our website and click Databases under the Research dropdown menu on the left side of the webpage.

To access off campus, you will need to enter your last name and Reinhardt ID (no zeroes) to log in.

 

 

Researching Off Campus

The library's databases and ebooks are accessible online, 24/7 using any device with a browser. It's easy to research from anywhere!

A login screen will appear, and all you will need to enter is your last name and Reinhardt ID without the beginning zeroes (e.g., 12345 instead of 00012345). You do not need to capitalize your last name.

If you have any issues accessing the library off campus, please contact us.

Frequently Asked Questions from Students

Which is better, a book or an article?

A book may take a year or longer to be published, and by the time it is on a library shelf could very well contain obsolete information. Newspapers, magazines, and journals are published monthly, weekly, or as often as daily.  The information is fresher and therefore more reliable.  However, for an overview of the plants or animals in a region, biography or an historical event, a book may provide a more complete picture.

Why can't I just use Wikipedia?

Wikipedia is a great place for general information, however doing academic research in a college setting provides more than Wikipedia could provide.  It is also open to editing by anyone, so you cannot trust what is on a Wikipedia entry since you don't know who the author really is or what their credentials are.

Avoiding Plagiarism

Citing Sources

Need help citing your sources in APA or MLA style. Check out the Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) website for tips on using various style manuals when citing sources for your papers and projects.

Director of Library Services

Profile Photo
Joel Langford
Contact:
770 720-5585

Library Information

Library Website

 

 Phone: (770) 720-9120

Library Hours:

 

Mon-Thurs 8AM-11PM

Fridays 8AM-5PM

Saturdays 1PM-5PM

Sundays 2PM-11PM

Copyright

The content within these LibGuides was created by the Library for use by Reinhardt University students. Please ask for written permission before using any part of a LibGuide in a syllabus, assignment, or other communication.