LibGuides: Nursing: Home

GALILEO

GALILEO This link opens in a new window
GALILEO is an online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or internet directories.

Other Nursing Resources

These are resources which are not part of the library, but may be helpful in your research.

Biology Open
Peer reviewed open-access journal

PLOS Biology
Peer reviewed open-access journal

Director of Library Services

Shannon Gibson

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Nursing Databases

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Articles on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health.

CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) This link opens in a new window
Offers a variety of options for researching current health issues including, up-to-date information on current diseases and illnesses, vaccine information, general health information, safety, and wellness.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also provides full text for more than 220 books/monographs.

Health and Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offers users vital clinical, biomedical, and health journals, including many indexed in MEDLINE.

Health Source: Nursing /Academic Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines.

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts of journal articles in the health sciences with links to full text.

MEDLINEplus (at National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health) This link opens in a new window
A web site of consumer health resources that brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.

Merck Manual (Professional Edition) This link opens in a new window
Offers trusted, concise and correct discussions of diagnosis and therapy.

Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.

Science databases

Biological Sciences Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.

Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers an enormous range of subjects from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.

Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications

Science and Technology Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community.

Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences.

Books, Ebooks, and Media

Library Catalog [Books & EBooks] This link opens in a new window
Search the Library catalog for books.

Browse in the Library stacks, 2nd floor.

When you are visiting the library, feel free to browse the library's collection on the 2nd floor by call number. These call number ranges are of interest to the field of Nursing:

RC Internal medicine

RG Gynecology and obstetrics

RJ Pediatrics

RM Therapeutics. Pharmacology

RT Nursing

RX Homeopathy

StatPearls

Author, A. A., (date). Title of chapter. StatPearls. Retrieved Month XX, Year, from www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/XXXXXXXX

Ranzenberger, L. R. & Pai, R. B. Lymphoscintigraphy. (2024). StatPearls. Retrieved September 30, 2024, from www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK563213/

The intext citation would be:

(Author(s), date)

(Ranzenberger & Pai, 2024)

The URL would be from the chapter/article specific page and not the StatPearls landing page.

Citations and Formatting APA

Citation: APA Style 7th ed.
by Shannon Gibson Last Updated Dec 9, 2024 13 views this year

Research assistance

Evaluate Scholarly Articles worksheet
This worksheet takes you through the process of identifying parts of a scholarly article. Fill in the blanks to make sure you understand what the article is about. This could help when creating an annotated bibliography.
Boolean operators and punctuation wildcards
This document you can download to remind you of the functions of and, or, and not.

Center for Student Success

CSS Website
The Center for Student Success is tutoring for Reinhardt students.

On the website, there are links to make an appointment with a tutor.

You can also email CSS@reinhardt.edu for general questions.