LibGuides: History: Home

History Databases

A to Z Maps Online (RU Library) This link opens in a new window
The world's largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps.

America's Historical Newspapers (Readex/NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Features cover-to-cover reproductions of over 600 historic newspapers published in 38 states and the District of Columbia.

Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Genealogical records, images, narratives, periodicals. THIS DATABASE IS AVAILABLE ONLY IN THE LIBRARY.

Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Featuring newspapers, government documents and rare printed materials, this collection covers politics, society and daily life during the American Civil War period: 1840-1877.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 (Readex/NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
This collection, based on Evans' American Bibliography, contains the full text of all known existing books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in the United States (or British American colonies prior to Independence) from 1639 through 1800.

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819 (Readex/NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
More than four million pages cover westward expansion, the development of American arts, the progression of American political thought and much more.

Geni Public Access (Geni) This link opens in a new window
Genealogical research tool. By accessing through the library, you have full access to Geni Pro features.

History Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, images, and video on U.S. and world history

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from significant scholarly journals spanning the arts, humanities, business, music, social sciences, and sciences. Full text image reproduction from 1st issue through to last 3-5 years.

Military Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

Georgia History

Digital Library of Georgia This link opens in a new window
Gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, and other materials.

Georgia Department of Archives & History This link opens in a new window
Link to the Archives & History web site.

Georgia Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An ongoing project to digitize Georgia newspapers.

New Georgia Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Provides an authoritative source of information about people, places, events, institutions, and many other topics about the state of Georgia.

Vanishing Georgia (Digital Library of Georgia) This link opens in a new window
Historically significant photographs of people, places, and structures from Georgia's past.

Native American Studies

Native American Documents (Digital Library of Georgia) This link opens in a new window
Documents and images on the history of Native Americans in the Southeastern U.S. including letters, legal proceedings, military orders, and more.

ebooks on EBSCOhost (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Search for Native Americans for eBooks.

Bepress Digital Commons This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text, open access scholarship that is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, representing thousands of disciplines and subject areas from architecture to zoology.

Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842 (Digital Library of Georgia) This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 documents and images on the history of Native Americans in the Southeastern U.S. including letters, legal proceedings, military orders, and more.

African-American Studies

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles, some peer-reviewed, covering most topics and subjects.

Civil Rights Digital Library This link opens in a new window
American Civil Rights Movement; images; movies; articles
Provided by Digital Library of Georgia

Books, Ebooks, and Media

Library Catalog [Books & EBooks] This link opens in a new window

Includes searching the library's collection of e-books which can be accessed online.

When you are visiting the library, feel free to browse the library's collection on the 2nd floor by call number. These call number ranges are of interest to the field of History:

D History (General)

DA Great Britain

DAW Central Europe

DB Austria - Liechtenstein - Hungary - Czechoslovakia

DC France - Andorra - Monaco

DD Germany

DE Greco-Roman World

DF Greece

DG Italy – Malta

DH Low Countries - Benelux Countries

DJ Netherlands (Holland)

DJK Eastern Europe (General)

DK Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics – Poland

DL Northern Europe. Scandinavia

DP Spain - Portugal

DQ Switzerland

DR Balkan Peninsula

DS Asia

DT Africa

DU Oceania (South Seas)

DX Romanies

E-F America

Some especially useful call numbers:

E11-143 America

E151-909 United States

F1-975 United States local history

F281-295 Georgia

F1201-3799 Latin America. Spanish America

History

Citations and Formatting Turabian

Director of Library Services

History Databases

Georgia History

Native American Studies

African-American Studies

Books, Ebooks, and Media