LibGuides: English and Literature: Home

GALILEO

GALILEO This link opens in a new window
GALILEO is an online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or internet directories.

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Literary Reference Source Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism, author biographies, full-text articles, poems, and short stories.

Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains content on the authors and works most studied in the high school curriculum, multicultural classics, contemporary literature, and more.

ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
Complete works, literature, criticism, reference

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles from significant scholarly journals spanning the arts, humanities, business, music, social sciences, and sciences. ARTstor images included in JSTOR. Full text image reproduction from 1st issue through to last 3-5 years.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Index to books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
The MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory, and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes.

Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue. This database provides content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Respected reference source plus Book of the Year and Britannica Intermediate for school students.

History Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, images, and video on U.S. and world history

MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Complete offers a collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books, videos and other sources covering virtually every subject area.

Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Source provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.

Includes searching the library's collection of e-books which can be accessed online.

When you are visiting the library, feel free to browse the library's collection on the 2nd floor by call number.

PA Greek & Roman Language and Literatures

PG Slavic, Baltic, Albanian Languages and Literatures

PJ Oriental Languages and Literatures

PK Indo-Iranian Languages and Literatures

PL Languages and Literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania

PN Literature (General)

PQ French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese Literature

PR English Literature

PS American Literature

PT German, Dutch, Scandinavian, etc. Literature

Some especially useful call numbers:

PR 2700-2899 Shakespeare

PS 3565 .C57 Flannery O'Connor

Citation: MLA Style 9th ed.
by Shannon Gibson Last Updated Dec 9, 2024 4 views this year

These are resources which are not part of the library, but may be helpful in your research.

Encyclopedia Mythica
Internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion from around the world