The Archives and Special Collections are a growing collection and welcomes gifts that expand our understanding of the University’s history and our place in the community.
The library has an extensive collection of video and audio recordings, as well as viewing equipment for each. The Media collection is located on the second floor, and items can be checked-out by students, faculty, staff, and community patrons for a one-week loan period.
The library also subscribes to several streaming video and audio databases. These include Films on Demand, a comprehensive, curriculum-focused video subscription providing unlimited access to thousands of videos, and several music streaming databases. Off campus access to these databases is restricted to current Reinhardt students, faculty, and staff. Others may access databases only within the library building.
In Special Collections, the library has a collection of phonograph records donated by Reinhardt alumnus Rick L. Pope. These records do not circulate, but there is equipment in the library for listening to the albums.
The Triplett Memorial Military History Collection (TMMC) is a collection of books, videos, periodicals and memorabilia pertaining to the military throughout history. This collection is located on the third floor of the library.
The original donation of more than 5,000 books and other items was given to the Hill Freeman Library and Spruill Learning Center by Don Wesley-Brown, a veteran and former paratrooper. While the biggest part of the collection is U.S. Civil War history, the Triplett Memorial Military History Collection includes books on every war in which the United States has been involved - from the American Revolution to the recent conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan.
According to Mr. Brown, "[T]here [has] been a Triplett in the armed forces in every war from the French and Indian War to the present time." The collection is named in honor of his mother's family name.
The collection was supplemented by a donation of 1,100 books on World War II from Mr. and Mrs. Robert L. Poe, Sr. These books had belonged to Mrs. Poe's brother, Frank James Farkus III, who had fought in World War II under General George Patton. About a third of the books are written in German and view the war from the German prospective.
A significant number of additional volumes were donated to the collection by Richard R. Jaeger, III, in memory of his son Richard Robert Jaeger, IV, a graduate of The Citadel, and by Gordon R. "Rich" Elwell.
The Children’s Collection is located on the third floor of the library. A special room houses the easy reader and picture books while juvenile non-fiction and young adult fiction is located near the Triplett Memorial Military History Collection.
This collection, of particular interest to Education students, features more than 2000 works of fiction and nonfiction, ranging from picture books and easy readers to young adult literature.
The collection is available for community children and youth to use. Books may be borrowed for a three week period.
More than 150 of these books are written in Spanish or in a bilingual format.
Located on the second floor near the library's service desk, the leisure reading collection is a variety of bestselling fiction and nonfiction, in both book and audiobook format. The collection rotates as new books are published and older ones lose popularity.
Leisure reading materials are available for 3 week check-out, regardless of patron type. This allows everyone a chance to use these books.
If you would like to suggest a title, please use the suggestion form or contact the library at library@reinhardt.edu
The Music Library for the School of Performing Arts is located on the second floor of the Hill Freeman Library and Spruill Learning Center. Books and scores are cataloged within the music classification as part of the general collection.
The Music Library houses musical scores, recordings, and other materials related to music study. Use of the Music Library collection is restricted to Reinhardt University students, faculty and staff.
Students, faculty and staff may access various music databases through the library's Electronic Resources page. These databases include access to sound recordings, videos, and scores as well as research materials. Some of the databases available in the electronic collections include:
For a complete list of music databases and for more information about accessing and searching the Music Library collection, please view the Music LibGuide.