Skip to Main Content

Library Policies

Hill Freeman Library and Spruill Learning Center mission statement, vision, goals & objectives, and policies.

Collection Development Policy

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT GUIDELINES 

Reinhardt University Hill Freeman Library and Spruill Learning Center 

 

  1. INTRODUCTION

The Hill Freeman Library and Spruill Learning Center supports the mission of Reinhardt University by assisting the instruction and research efforts of the University through the provision of appropriate collections and services. The selection, cataloging, management, evaluation and teaching of information resources is undertaken to support present and future programs of the University. Ongoing review and evaluation of Library resources and services are carried out in collaboration with the University community to determine the nature of information resources and services needed.

 

ln an environment of rapidly shifting patterns of information delivery it is critical that decisions in the selection of library materials and services be based on sound principles that have the support of all stakeholders in the community.  Reinhardt University seeks to educate the whole person by developing the intellectual, social, personal, vocational, spiritual/moral and physical dimensions of its students.  The collection development policy that follows reflects the stated mission of Reinhardt University.

  1. LIBRARY MISSION STATEMENT 

The Hill Freeman Library and Spruill Learning Center supports the intellectual development of Reinhardt University students by providing information-related resources and services and by teaching the information skills needed for academic success and life-long learning. Library services, collections, resources, and environment support the academic programs of the University and enrich the learning experience of the Reinhardt community.

Collection Development Statement of Philosophy 

A collection development statement is intended to help in building a quality collection that meets the needs of the University's goals, objectives and programs by aiding in communication among students, faculty, academic administrators and librarians. It should serve as an aid in supporting present and future programs of the University by providing guidelines and information about the priorities of collecting, areas of responsibility, and methods for balancing the funds available. 

     III. OBJECTIVES 

The primary objective of the Hill Freeman Library and Spruill Learning Center is the support of academic programs at Reinhardt University. The goal of Reinhardt University's curriculum, as stated in the University catalog, is "to provide students both with a solid foundation in the liberal arts and with preparation for selected careers and professions." Library collection development works in support of these goals as a first priority. 

 

Acquisitions made by the library shall include: 

A. Research material in various formats of lasting value that is requested by faculty and administration. 

B. Materials for general reference and information outside of the areas of academic instruction, thus providing a general information resource for the University and local community. 

C. Popular reading material that will promote a life-long reading habit.

D. A variety of materials to provide different perspectives on controversial issues.

E. Archival material pertaining to the University and the surrounding area. 

While budgetary constraints are always a factor in selection decisions, the Library is committed to providing the best, most current information regardless of format or method of presentation. 

  1. SELECTION RESPONSIBILITY 

The Library Director is ultimately responsible for the development and maintenance of the library’s collection and the appropriate expenditures. The Director and Technical Services Librarian develop and maintains the library collection, including acquisitions and de-selections.

Building the library's collection is the product of cooperative work between the library and the academic departments. The Librarians shall solicit selections from faculty in their respective areas of expertise. Faculty members are encouraged to make recommendations for library acquisitions from their professional literature as well as for course requirements and students’ research needs. Students’ requests for acquisition of materials are also welcomed, and are reviewed by the same standards as are requests from all other sources. 

  1. FUND ALLOCATION 

It is the Library Director's responsibility to allocate the materials budget in such a way as to fulfill the library's collection development goals. A number of financial and institutional factors affect the allocation of funds. The amount allocated is based on factors such as the number of contact hours, the number of declared majors, the number of faculty and the average cost of books and serials in the field. 

  1. SELECTION GUIDELINES 

A. Ethical and Legal Principles 

The Hill Freeman Library and Spruill Learning Center supports the standards on collection development contained within the "Standards for Libraries in Higher Education"

(http://www.ala.org/acrl/standards/standardslibraries/) adopted by the American Library Association's

Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). The Library also supports and complies with the American Library Association's Bill of Rights (http://www.ala.org/advocacy/intfreedom/librarybill/) In accordance with the principles contained within these documents, the Library will purchase materials that reflect a wide range of opinion on moral, social, political, philosophical and religious issues. 

 

The Library will not, at the request of any individual or group, automatically withdraw any item that has been added on the basis of the stated selection criteria or add any item that has been excluded on the basis of the stated criteria. If an individual or a group wishes to challenge certain items, a Request for Reconsideration Form must be submitted. Such requests will be reviewed by the Library Director and a committee appointed by the Vice President for Academic Affairs. The Hill Freeman Library and Spruill Learning Center complies fully with all the provisions of the U. S. copyright law. 

 

B. Criteria for Selection of All Materials 

Institutional goals, relevancy to the curriculum, quality of content and fulfillment of academic need are the primary factors taken into consideration when selecting materials. Items must directly support the current curriculum, or otherwise be closely related to facilitate a love of learning among students or to further their academic aspirations (e.g., medical texts).

Specific considerations in choosing individual items include some or all of the following: 

  • lasting value of the content 

  • appropriateness of level of treatment 

  • strength of present holdings in same or similar subject areas 

  • demand, as determined by circulation and interlibrary loan data

  • requests for material on the same or similar subjects 

  • cost 

  • suitability of format to content 

  • authority of author 

  • reputation of publisher 

  • reviews in subject-specific and standard library reviewing sources  holdings at other institutions 

AUTHORITY OF AUTHOR/REPUTATION OF PUBLISHER

Books and media are selected based upon the author/editor’s authority and experience in their particular subject. The publisher of an item must also be reputable, i.e., not a vanity press or self-publishing service. An exception may be made for items authored and/or edited by current Reinhardt University faculty, who may opt to utilize a self-publishing service.

 

REVIEWS

All items will be selected based upon positive reviews in their respective fields (peer-reviewed) as well as positive reviews in library reviewing sources, including Choice and Library Journal.  

 

TEXTBOOKS 

Textbooks are not normally added to the collection. The exceptions are those which have earned reputations as "classics" in their fields, or when a textbook is the best or only source of information on a particular topic. An instructor is welcome to place a personal copy of a textbook on Course Reserve.

 

DUPLICATES

Duplicate copies of items are added only under unusual circumstances or high demand for a specific title.  

 

HARDCOPY vs. PAPERBACKS 

When there is an option of hardback or paperback binding, the choice is based on expected use, lasting value of content, and cost differential. 

 

COLLECTION CURRENCY 

The majority of selections are current publications, which are those published within the past five years. Occasionally, an item which is a seminal work in its respective field that has an older publication date will be selected.  The Library shall only purchase new items as the condition of used items varies. Out of print items are generally not selected as these are difficult to find and condition of item from a used or third party seller cannot be assured. The library recognizes the need for retrospective purchases, and systematically uses standard bibliographies and other evaluation tools to locate and fill gaps in the collection.

 

LANGUAGE: 

Generally the library acquires only English language material. Items in other languages which support the foreign language curriculum may be added when necessary. 

VII. COLLECTIONS 

This section of the policy examines the library’s collections beyond the scope of traditional research materials in the circulating collection.

A. Serials 

A serial is a publication issued in successive parts, each bearing numeric or chronological information identifying it with its series. Periodicals including journals, magazines and newspapers are classified as serials. The serials collection supports the research needs of Reinhardt University undergraduates, and faculty. 

1. General Selection Criteria 

Serials will be selected and deselected based on how well they support the continuing information needs of the University community.  The selection criteria for serials will follow the selection criteria for all materials.

2. Evaluation 

The Serials Assistant works with the Library Director regularly to determine which serial subscriptions should be added and cancelled and also to determine the most appropriate, cost-effective format for subscriptions. 

 

B. Media

Requests for media materials (such as DVDs) are evaluated on the same basis as monographs, with special emphasis on the suitability of the format to the content, and on the quality of the production and its educational value. All media acquisitions will follow the General Selection Criteria.  Occasionally, a film produced for entertainment which is considered an important contribution to society or culture may be included.  Only current formats shall be considered in acquisition of new media holdings. 

C. Children's Literature 

Those books which have an intended audience of preschool through young adult are shelved separately from the general collection in the designated Children’s Collection. The purpose of the collection is to provide a sampling of quality children's literature for those students in education or other careers working with children and young people. 

D. Leisure Reading Collection 

A small, frequently replenished collection of leisure reading materials are maintained to encourage the reading habit. These include books in both print and audio formats, and are selected based upon availability, reviews, status on bestseller lists, and requests from library users.

E. Electronic Formats 

The library provides materials in electronic formats such as e-books and databases which contain electronic journal articles and other resources.  Online electronic databases/publications enhance accessibility to the collection both on and off campus and accommodate distance learners and traditional students alike.

F. Archives and Special Collections 

Valuable, fragile, and rare items shall be housed in the Library Archives.  Examples of such items include first edition books and/or items printed over a century ago.

Printed items pertaining to Reinhardt University and the surrounding community will be added to the special collection using the General Selection Criteria for all materials. 

VII.GIFTS 

Gifts are encouraged, with the understanding that the library may dispose of them or add them to the collection based upon the criteria for selection of new materials.  Once an item is donated to the library, it belongs to the library; the library cannot accept gift items under restricted conditions. The library assumes no responsibility for appraisal of gift items. 

IX. COLLECTION MAINTENANCE AND EVALUATION 

Deselecting of library materials (the process of removing materials from the collection) is essential for the maintenance of a current, active collection that meets the needs of the academic community. This process provides quality control through the elimination of inaccurate, outdated and worn-out materials, and requires the same level of attention to collection development requirements as does the original selection process. The collection is continually monitored for outdated or damaged material, which is replaced or withdrawn. Faculty members and others within the Reinhardt community are encouraged to make deselecting recommendations.